More About Maureen’s Clarisse

I’m getting very excited about Maureen’s new foster dog.  I love meeting new dogs, and this is going to be particularly thrilling, because for Maureen, Clarisse will always be ‘the dog who changed my life’.  Through Clarisse, Maureen has become a dog rescuer, and that’s a big deal.

I’ve been learning what I can about Clarisse, online, since I know that Maureen has little time for Facebook and chit chat during the work week, and she’ll need any extra time she has to get ready for her new ‘foster mom’ role.  I know that Maureen will have an emotional response to Clarisse, and I want to be a supportive friend. 

Apparently, Clarisse has had a very rough time lately, although she shows no negative behaviors as a result–amazing, really.  I’m still digging for more details, but below you’ll read about her weight.  And you can see that her udder (is it called an udder?  I just realized I have no idea what to call it, in a female dog!) is hugely swollen with milk for her…missing?  stolen?  killed in the shelter?…I just don’t know yet, puppies.  Ask any nursing mother, if you can’t imagine how bad

Maureen's foster dog, Clarisse

that feels.  And yet she’s a sweetheart at all times, everyone says.  Here’s her original adoption description:

CLARISSE – A885642 – 3 yr old female pittie mix – 36lbs – Stray, 12/30

I love this girl. I have been feeding her everyday, out of my hand. She is sooooo sweet.

A volunteer writes: Let this new year NOT include another dog treated the way the delicate beauty CLARISSE has been treated. At only 36 pounds, this lovely Am Staff mix should weigh at LEAST 20 pounds more. She is a 3-year-old recent mother who still carries a great deal of milk. Yet despite her dreadful treatment, Clarisse is one of the sweetest, gentlest dogs this volunteer has ever met. She is immediately glad to have a visitor, and is perfect on leash. She walks right along with you, neither pulling nor hanging back. She may be housetrained, knew just what to do outside and did it right away. If there is a dog who will respond to kindness and genuine care, a dog who needs the best that a person can offer, it is this angelic girl. She was given the behavior rating of “moderate” when first admitted to the shelter, and the only reason I can imagine is that she was fearful upon arrival. Because Clarisse is an absolute gem! She is a licker of hands, a cuddler, a dog who retained her dignity in the face of treatment she did not deserve, no one would. Let the new year bring this darling girl a new home with love and kindness–she is waiting at the Manhattan shelter.

You don’t have to wait much longer, Clarisse–just two days until your transport to your loving foster home!

This entry was posted in Dog Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More About Maureen’s Clarisse

  1. Anja says:

    First of all, kudos to Maureen!!!
    To Clarisse….. I would like to say if I could….. be a good girl. Your world is about to change in a way you never imagined.

    Now, I am NOT being negative, but in Clarisse’s best interest I want to share some experience ( which you must have seen yourself, but this kind of stuff affects you differently than others….. it makes you happy….not frustrated. You celebrate the emerging of an animal spirit ).

    When one adopts an animal that is as clearly emaciated as Clarisse, they are drawn to the docile and pleasant demeanor of the animal. Their nurturing instinct kicks in and they have all the good intentions they should have…..
    What does happen more often than not, is that once these animals are nursed back to health their new care-takers see an entirely different animal from the pathetic little creature they wanted to save!
    I think that what happens to these animals, is that once they start to feel better, they are just so ecstatic and blown away by how awesome they can feel, that they (sometimes literally) want to bounce off walls!!!

    The key in saving animals like this, is monitor their progress and “GUIDING” them!
    With each progress they make physically, we must not baby them, but guide them towards their new life. This might be their greatest challenge yet, and if we take on the responsibility to save them, we MUST take on the challenge of teaching them every step of the way as well!

    I would like to encourage Maureen and you to video this experience! This kind of how-to how-not-to is what helps us learn and do better next time.
    It won’t be smooth sailing, but if it is, even more reason to catch it on tape!

    I am looking forward to following Clarisse’s future. Now, she actually has one!!
    You guys rock!!!

  2. Maureen says:

    Thanks for the advice Anja, I certainly don’t take it as an effort at negativity since we all have our hearts in the same place. I am more than happy to draw from the experience of others.
    It’s funny you should say all of that because my dog Ruby was very much like that. Extremely docile when we first got her from the shelter, I wondered if she would ever even want to play with Max (who is 5 times her size). We have been through some rough spots with Ruby but she has responded quite well to training and she and Max get along very well. Neither one of them seems to have any boundary issues with the house…we’ve had other dogs “stay over” before, so I hope things go smoothly with Reesie.
    Only time will tell…I’ll keep everyone posted 🙂 I will definitely video this experience. I get the feeling it is something I will remember for the rest of my life anyway.

Leave a Reply

