Clarisse Has Landed!

Clarisse rides to her new home in the Patriciamobile!

 
 
 
 

Clarisse at peace--her first night home

That’s it.  Until tomorrow, that title is pretty much all I’ll be writing about Clarisse.  That’s because Clarisse’s new foster mom, and the woman who drove to meet the foster mom, the same kind person who brought me Grace, have each driven more than ten hours today.  And some of it may have been in fairly heavy snowfall, I would think, based on the weather here.  I know they must be very tired, and I won’t expect to read anything much from them until tomorrow, if then.

Even more importantly, I think it’s almost a sacred event, when first you bring a new dog into your home, and maybe it should be a time for only the family.  I just had a picture flash into my mind, that traditional image of a husband carrying his wife across the threshold of their new home.  Until this minute, I’ve never thought much about it, and now that I am thinking, I’m not sure I like it much.  Smacks of ownership, doesn’t it?  However, this isn’t the time to analyze it from that angle.  🙂  There’s one aspect of it that I find I do relate to in a positive way, and I’ll focus on that.  The first time you enter a home where you’ll live for any length of time, it’s the start of a new chapter in your life, and it’s important, and should be honored.  I’m sure Maureen and her daughter, and all three of her dogs, old and new, realize that Clarisse’s arrival is a big deal, and some of them, at least, will never forget it. 

When a dog is rescued the way Grace and Clarisse were, there are many people involved.  Each person is responsible for forging one link in the chain which will bridge the gap between ‘unwanted’ and ‘wanted’.  I’m still quite new at the Facebook rescue business, and I have a lot to learn.  At first, and even now, sometimes, I get frustrated with more experienced rescuers who assume a degree of knowledge on my part that I simply don’t have.  And this is what I’ll write about next, in, ‘Forging The Chain’.

This entry was posted in Dog Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clarisse Has Landed!

  1. Maureen says:

    Just a quick bit of advice and I will certainly make sure to write more tomorrow. Do not, I repeat, do not sit down to watch Pitbulls and Parolees with your newly rescued pup. She was just so disturbed by something one of the dogs said, she is shaking now. Channel changed…peace will soon return.

    • cellopets says:

      Once I get over being sad for her, I will find that intensely interesting. I really want to know exactly what they were showing at the point where she got upset, and what you think the dog on TV might have been saying. Or maybe it was the general environment she heard? Lots of dogs together? Did she think she was back in the ‘shelter’? This is the first time I’ve heard anything like this, and I think it’s a clue to her past. Re. your comment but on a much cheerier note, I adopted Burberry in August–she was a baby. I don’t watch TV now, and almost never watched it even then, especially not in the summer. So weeks and maybe even months went by after Burb’s adoption before I turned it on. Well, Burberry’s head whipped around and she pranced right over to that TV, wagging her tail like mad! TV had obviously featured largely in her life–and then I thought back and remembered that the owner who’d wanted to get rid of Burberry had had to go and turn off the TV when I came to pick Burb up (or maybe she’d just turned the volume down–it was that kind of house).

Leave a Reply

