A Contest!

I just had an inspiration, the roots of which came from an unlikely post by another rescuer on Facebook.  This rescuer is very passionate about what she does, and is experienced and effective–I’ll bet she gets many, many dogs placed in good homes in her neck of the woods, and far beyond.  She’s a devoted crossposter–she doesn’t merely click on her ‘share’ button to send the dogs’ photos and information to her friends; she writes additional helpful information and gives a little ‘nudge’, a call to action, to her reader.

Tonight this woman wrote on her page that she had just finished going through a huge mess of friend requests, which are invitations from someone on Facebook to become a ‘friend’, meaning you’ll have access to each other’s information, or the part of it you wish to share, anyway.  She was letting people know that, if your page did not indicate that you were a serious animal rescuer, she would not accept your invitation.  She said she was on Facebook for one reason and one reason only–to rescue pets.

I thought about that for a few minutes.  Sometimes I’ve wondered whether I’m driving my non-dog-loving friends crazy with my posts.  Indeed, I’ve had one friend ‘unfriend’ me, but she gave me warning–a very kind warning, too–that she was going to take that action, and I didn’t mind at all.  But as I say, I worry sometimes, and at one time I thought about making a special identity just for my rescue activities. 

But I realized that I’d be missing a chance to show others how easy it is to get involved in crossposting.  At the beginning, I had no idea what I was doing.  I just tried to read and absorb, and learn as much as I could, as fast as I could.  If I can do it, anyone can–I’m not good at computer things.  And lately I’ve been absolutely delighted to find out that, just as I’d have predicted, my friends are much quicker than I am! 

Because, as I told you, Beloved F has started crossposting, at least a little.  And I imagine it’ll grow on her, as it did on me.  She’s not the only one of my friends who has started, but she’s the most surprising one, because, as you know if you read this blog regularly, her family doesn’t yet have a dog.

After I’d thought about Beloved F for a few minutes, and how she wouldn’t have started if she hadn’t been flooded by the dog posts on my page (which wasn’t intentional; she was just ‘in the crossfire’, so to speak), I wrote on the experienced crossposter’s page.  I thought she was making a mistake to exclude her non-rescue friends from her page, but didn’t want to appear to criticize her.  So I wrote this:

Cellopets:  I was just thinking, ‘Experienced Rescuer’–a very good friend of mine here on FB had nothing to do with dog rescue–she doesn’t even have a dog, just cats–and now, because of what she saw on my page, she’s going to walk dogs at a rescue near her, she’s getting ready to foster, and she’s crossposting! She learned so fast, and she really gets it.
 
And she wrote back, with a wonderful story:
 
Experienced Rescuer:  Thats awesome, cellopets…. I often tell people about a Chihuahua on the e-list… had one day left… I posted him… a “friend” shared her… and her friend went in and adopted the dog. The REAL amazing thing was… that friend that shared my post was the ONLY person me and the adopter had in common. I had over 2000 friends then, but she was the only one. Just takes one post, one share to save a dog. I am so proud to have been part of that amazing coincidence!!
  
I won’t forget that story, and it has inspired me to offer you a contest.  The ‘e-list’, by the way, means the euthanasia list–the Chihuahua in the story had one day left to live. 
 
I want you to launch yourself as a crossposter on Facebook, and then I want you to recruit one of your friends to join you.  The first thing you’ll have to do is to write a comment on this blog, telling me you want to do the contest.  Then I’ll give you the name I use on Facebook, so that you can ‘friend’ me there; otherwise, I won’t know that you’re crossposting.  I’ll send two nice gifts to the first pair of friends to start crossposting.  You’ll each have a choice of these gifts:  a twenty dollar credit towards lovely jewelry made by a husband/wife team of rescuers I ‘met’ on Facebook (this couple donates a portion of their earnings to save horses destined for slaughter), or twenty dollars worth of Rescue Chocolate.  Links to both these websites are below.  I’ve ordered two pieces of jewelry from the husband/wife team, and was delighted with them.  I don’t think you can go wrong with the chocolate, either.  😉 
I have no idea what your reaction will be to this contest offer, but I guess I’ll find out.  Please leave a comment if you have questions.  Here are the links to your prize choices–now get posting! 
 
 
 

What fun--a rescue contest!

 
 
This entry was posted in Dog Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

