Fascinating Research

Well, I’ve misplaced my wonderful breed book, or loaned it to someone, so I’m without my ‘go-to’ source for breed information.  It hardly matters, though, because you can find everything you ever wanted to know now, online.  I love following links.  You learn things you didn’t even know you needed to know. 

Here’s where my first exploration into the Akbash breed led me:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Livestock_guardian_dog

At the end of this article, there’s a list of breeds known to guard livestock.  I wanted to investigate the Kuvasz, since I’ve known one personally.  When I clicked on Kuvasz, it led me to this fascinating article:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Intelligence_of_Dogs

and then, somehow, I ended up here: 

 http://www.lgd.org/library/resc_lgd.htm

I’ve learned so much in fifteen minutes that I need to rest my brain and take a nap.  Partly it’s because I’m a little overwhelmed with the strangely coincidental post I just saw on the Facebook page of a dog-loving acquaintance who has a Great Pyrenees dog.  He’s been thinking of adopting another dog, and he wrote that there’s a female Great Pyrenees at our local shelter.  I wonder if that dog would enjoy, and have the skills for, life on Mr. Egg’s farm.  I doubt it, based on what I read in that last article, but I’ll try to find out, and I can’t help but hope.

This entry was posted in Dog Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fascinating Research

  1. Anja says:

    I think it’s all in the eye of the beholder.
    The link about re-homing a failed pet GP seemed awfully negative and judgemental as a whole.
    Looking at the list of intelligence and working dog ability, I think what we always need to ask FIRST is “what drives this dog?”
    Once you figure out what it is, you can reward them with what ….feeds their drive.
    It’s up to us to think outside of the box when we attempt to train any dog.
    Dogs don’t come in boxes. They come in bodies that have personalities and wants and needs and all of them, have a desire to do a job. Yes, for some that job may be official couch-warmer, but if that is the case, I guarantee you that this dog will fearlessly warm that couch, no matter what!
    You wouldn’t choose a hound to guard the chickens, but I believe that a herder with semi-decent genes can be rehabilitated, to do what they were born to do. Can the pet-failure GP protect a large flock of sheep by herself? Probably not, but don’t underestimate the ability of a senior herder/guardian to teach an new dog old tricks.
    Can you take a pet-failure GP from the shelter, turn it loose on the chickens and expect it to miraculously do it’s job? Of course not.
    If Mr. Egg has some dog-sense…. and I’d be surprised it he doesn’t…. those turkish dogs are not easy and require a person to think outside the box, he just might be up to giving a dog the chance to find the place where she belongs.

    I’m very curious to see how this adventure turns out!

Leave a Reply

