Mazy…

Mazy, the dog who went to Beloved F's head...

Mazy
Hound
Large
Adult Female
Located in a HIGH KILL SHELTER in SC AVAILABLE for RESCUE, FOSTER, ADOPTION OR SPONSORSHIP! Mazy is a beautiful Berner Laufhund! She’s between 1-4 yrs and 40 lbs, so she could probably stand to gain a little weight. She’s eager to please and anxiously awaiting a family to call her very own. Mazy’s needs are simple and few. She needs love, attention, food, room to run and a warm place sleep. In return for these basic needs being met, she will be your most loyal companion and friend. Please see the website describing her breed. It’s very impressive. http://www.thebreedsofdogs.com/Berner-Laufhund.htm If you are interested in more information on this beauty, please contact us right away at pawsnclawssc@gmail.com Thank you for helping us save these valuable and precious pups! Berner Laufhund

...and to her heart

The above text is what appeared on Mazy’s Petfinder listing (www.petfinder.com, the best-known site for finding an adoptable pet).  I came across Mazy in the course of following links about another dog, and she stopped me in my tracks.  I knew immediately that I’d found the dog most likely to appeal to Beloved F.  I sent Mazy to my friend and grabbed the phone.  Beloved F answered on the first ring, and I started babbling excitedly, and she answered, ‘Yes, I got her, and…yeah…yeah.’

And that was that.  There was no seesawing back and forth over whether Mazy was the one.  All discussions from then on were about how it would actually happen, and this is still in process.

Amy, a volunteer on Mazy’s end, gave me the breakdown just now of Mazy’s vetting costs, and we discussed whether it would be possible to get Mazy fully vetted by the time the next transport leaves, or whether it would be better to board Mazy for about a week and have her vetting happen more slowly.  In that second case, we hoped that there might be a private individual who could board Mazy, serving as a very short-term foster parent.  I’ll be asking Beloved F her opinion on all of these things tonight.

I learned from Amy a couple more things that I hadn’t known.  I learned, first of all, that Amy herself did the heartworm testing for the dogs in the rescue.  She told me that she and another woman had tried to ‘stick’ Mazy for the heartworm test, and been unsuccessful.  This made me cringe, and it worried me, too, because just recently my own wonderful vet had had trouble drawing blood from Grace and had attributed it to the fact than an older dog’s veins lose elasticity (or something like that).  I asked Amy whether she thought that Mazy was older than they’d estimated.  She said no, they’d had no trouble seeing the vein (meaning, getting it to ‘pop out’, as my vet says, getting it to be prominent under the skin).  It was just, she said, that they were inexperienced.  Oh…cringe cringe cringe.  I’m sorry to pass on this cringe to you, Beloved F.

So then I tried in earnest, but very politely, to get Mazy to the vet as soon as they could manage, and I believe that will happen tomorrow.  I said something like, ‘Oh, thank you for trying to get that test done.  Since she’ll be at the vet’s soon anyway, you won’t have to worry about that and can just let them do it’.  I must be careful to use all the clues at my disposal to understand the normal way in which this rescue works, so that I don’t ask too much or too little of them, and keep all of us on the same track, doing the best we can for Mazy. 

The other thing I learned from Amy is that the rescue does its own booster shots and Bordatella vaccines.  Bordatella’s common name is ‘kennel cough’, and a vaccine against it is required for any dog travelling on a good transport.  Mazy must have it, along with the other necessary shots, in order to be given her ‘passport’, the going rate for which seems to be $25 per dog. 

Amy told me that a Bordatella vaccine costs $12 at the vet they plan on using (I can’t wait to compare that to what it costs around here).  I asked her what it would cost for the rescue to give that vaccine, and she answered, in that wonderful Southern drawl I wish would just go on and on, ‘Well, if I get a flat of twenty, that breaks down to about five dollars per shot.’  Who knew that one could buy a flat of Bordatella vaccines?  Where, at the local corner store?  ‘Ah’d lahk a flat o’ Bordatella vaccine an’ a case o’ Pepsi, please’.  No, I’m being silly–I’m sure the rescue gets them through a company like Drs. Foster and Smith.  Anyway, I believe that Amy would think I was odd for suggesting that the vet do the shot, and might even be offended, and I know, from having given insulin shots to two dogs for years, how easy it is to give a dog a shot.  I think it’s very cool that they’re able to do that, and the more things dog owners can do for themselves, the better.  Drawing blood is not anywhere near as simple, sometimes, as giving a shot.  So what Amy and I settled on is that Mazy’s booster shots and Bordatella vaccine would be given by the rescue volunteers, and all other vetting would be done by the vet convenient to Amy, even though that vet is a little more expensive than the other option.  I expect that both these vets are so much less expensive than the offices near me and near Beloved F that both of us will be perfectly satisfied with the charges.

I mentioned that it was necessary for me to notice clues to the prevailing customs at various shelters and rescues.  Speaking of clues…

What do you see in those photos that gives you clues to important things about Mazy?

I see the walls and the floor.  The paint on the walls is crumbling.  The floor is very clean.  I don’t know if I’m right, but I think, ‘a shelter with few resources, trying very hard.’ 

I see another dog’s tail in the foreground of the first shot.  Mazy’s body language in that photo is very comfortable and relaxed.  The fact that the shelter manager put Mazy into a cage with another dog, coupled with her comfortable stance, tell me that she’s good with other dogs, good beyond any worry or doubt, because a shelter can’t afford that kind of trouble.  I wouldn’t expect a dog like Mazy, a member of the Hound family, to be bad with other dogs, but of course it could happen.  In any case, because of this photo, we know for sure that she’s fine.

Beloved F saw, in the first photo, Mazy’s prominent teats–I missed them.  That means that she’s had pups at least once (and maybe fairly recently), which, if you take it to its logical conclusion, bearing in mind Mazy’s geographic location, means that it’s likely she’s unspayed.  Spaying and neutering are nowhere near as common down South as they are in other parts of the country.  Amy confirmed for me today that Mazy is, indeed, not spayed yet, and the vet will do that for her.

The last thing I see, although if I look again tomorrow there might be something else, is that Mazy’s body language is slightly less comfortable in the second photo, the one where she’s making eye contact with the human behind the camera.  I’m not positive of that, and it could just be a split-second pose the camera caught.  But I wouldn’t be surprised if Mazy turns out to be a dog who’s more submissive than dominant.  I see her, in my imagination and given the information I have so far, as a dog who approaches a human in a friendly, loving way, hoping always for the best, but remembering that there’s a chance she might not get a warm reception. 

If that’s the way it’s been for you, Mazy, I want to tell you that things are about to change, my friend.  Your grass just got greener.  Well, figuratively speaking, for now.  That makes me think of something…

Have you ever seen snow, Mazy? 

This entry was posted in Dog Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mazy…

  1. Pingback: Mazy And Sawyere |

Leave a Reply

