A Thrill A Minute In Dogland

I feel a little like this puppy...

Today, Saturday, February 26th, 2011.  If there were more happening with dogs, I couldn’t keep up.  Here’s everything I can remember, in no particular order:

Sawyere’s coming!  There is, and will be, lots to read about that.

Mazy’s coming!  Beloved Friend and family will be driving a little ways out of state to pick her up this evening.  I’m hoping to persuade Beloved F to blog about her thoughts and preparations, as she welcomes her very first dog into their home.  All day long yesterday little messages kept popping up on my Facebook chat area:  ‘What size collar?’; ‘Should I lay plastic on the floor?’, ‘Should I put bedding in the crate?’; ‘How about food?’  It’s so exciting for me, to be ‘living’ this through her–you see, it’s something I can never again live through me.  I don’t know if she knows just how exciting it is for me…

So I do hope she’ll blog about it, but if she can’t because she’s too busy experiencing it, then that’s OK, too.  All day I’ll be thinking about her, and already was, yesterday.  Mazy, Mazy, Mazy, you were so close to being killed, and your life just took a giant step forward…and, I hope, yours, too, Beloved Friend.

Random tip for dog people (including Beloved F):  I check the online L.L.Bean site frequently, and right now is the time of the year when prices are the best.  I bought two cushions for the lawn glider they sell, although I don’t own the lawn glider, because they’re big, they’re waterproof, they’re fade-proof Sunbrella fabric, they’re at a super price, and they make great dog beds.  They arrived today, and they’re excellent quality.  I tied the two cushions together with the attached ties, and now there’s a cheerful lime green bed, which even Grace can climb onto, near the woodstove’s warmth.

I’m working on two rescues from southern states.  If things go well, I’ll be writing much more about those dogs. 

Grace didn’t wet her bed once today.  I haven’t even had time to write here that, because of a tip from a rescuer who reads this blog, I learned about a medicine which is more or less like hormone replacements in post-menopausal women, and which helps with incontinence in all dogs, but especially in spayed female dogs.  It took a little bit of tweaking of the dose, but we have it right now, and Grace seems much happier.  Her nose isn’t stuffy, she’s not wetting the bed, and her arthritis seems very well controlled, too.  It’s too bad that she has to be on three meds, but sometimes that’s what you’ve got to do.

Talented Artist and I, with another friend, are making final preparations to launch a rescue project which has been in the making for almost two years.  More on that soon!

And if you have time to check my Tiny Step section of this blog, I’m looking to begin making (felting and/or sewing) pads for shelter pets’ cages, and would really appreciate donations of your old wool sweaters, and any blankets or comforters or throws.  Write me a message if you want to be involved with this, in any way, for my shelter or for yours.  I know that the same reader who told me about Grace’s medicine is an excellent seamstress!

OK, my pack is good, cats and dogs both.  I am good.  Tomorrow is a very big day, and it’s time to rest.

This entry was posted in Dog Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

